NCAN 2020 Awards of Excellence
Share |

Dominique Jordan Turner, President and CEO of Chicago Scholars, accepts the 2017 College Access Organization Award of Excellence from Linda Thompson, Senior Vice President - Program Administration & Organizational Learning at the Helios Education Foundation, at NCAN’s 22nd annual national conference in San Diego, California.

NCAN is pleased to accept nominations for the annual Awards of Excellence, which will be presented during our 2020 national conference, "Marching Toward Equity: NCAN’s 25th Anniversary Conference."

The awards recognize excellence among college attainment professionals, organizations, and partners as evidenced by successful student outcomes. Award winners will be selected based on demonstrated evidence of student success outcomes, biographies of nominees, nomination letters, and letters of recommendation.

We highly encourage members to nominate an organization or individual for a chance to win $5,000 for organizations or $1,000 for individuals. Nominations are due by Friday, July 31 at 11:59 p.m. ET.

We are accepting nominations in three categories:

1. Dr. David B. Swedlow Professional of the Year Award of Excellence


This award recognizes the dedication, hard work and innovation of an individual working at an NCAN member program. This award is named in honor of Dr. David B. Swedlow, a practitioner who dedicated his life’s work to helping students gain access to college. Professionals at any level are eligible for this award, including advisors, program managers, and CEOs.

2. Member of the Year Award of Excellence

Organization or program

This award recognizes a college attainment organization or program and its work to fulfill NCAN’s mission of building, strengthening, and empowering communities committed to college attainment so that all students, especially those underrepresented in postsecondary education, can achieve their educational dreams.

3. Partner of the Year Award of Excellence

Institution, department, or school district | Nominator must be an NCAN member; nominee is not required to be an NCAN member.

This award recognizes an institution, department, or school district that collaborates with an NCAN-member college attainment organization or program to ensure that the organization’s students – and all underrepresented students served by the partner – get the supports they need to begin and complete a two- or four-year degree.


🏆 Submit an Awards of Excellence nomination.


With the exception of the Partner of the Year Award of Excellence, nominators and nominees must be NCAN members. Organizations and individuals may self-nominate. We encourage organizations to submit only one nomination per award category. Nominations will be considered by a committee of NCAN members.  We recognize the level of effort it requires to compose and submit a nomination. Nominations will be kept active for two years.

We look forward to your participation and recognizing the important work being done by NCAN members and partners across the country. If you have any questions about the Awards of Excellence nomination process, please contact Jamese Carrell, member services associate, at