News: Archived Blogs (2017 and older)

Academic Success Program Wins 2016 College Access Organization Award of Excellence

Wednesday, September 21, 2016  
Posted by: Allie Ciaramella, Communications Manager
Share |

Academic Success Program received the College Access Organization Award of Excellence today at NCAN’s 2016 annual conference in Detroit, Michigan. 

The College Access Organization Award of Excellence recognizes the work of a college access/success program that is committed to college access and success so that all students, especially those underrepresented in postsecondary education, can achieve their educational dreams. 

Academic Success Program in Dallas, Texas creates a college-going culture in communities by working with key players like parents, teachers and counselors to lift expectations for first-generation, low-income and minority students and help them identify their best-fit path to higher education. ASP has formed positive working relationships with colleges and scholarship organizations that also walk alongside students throughout their individual mentorships with ASP staff, which rely on guidance and encouragement to boost achievement among students who have been labeled and marginalized for generations.

ASP has reached many thousands of students with the most need and lowest college-going rates in the North Texas region. In the 2014-15 academic year, the organization hosted 294 small group workshops, helped submit 9,429 college applications producing 6,744 acceptances, and earned $76.9 million in grants and scholarships for extraordinary students from a dozen high schools in the Dallas Independent School District. ASP schools have also produced 10 Gates Millennium Scholars, three QuestBridge Scholars and 66 Ivy League acceptances, to name just a few accomplishments. 

The organization is also working toward access at the national level, having contributed to conversations at prestigious colleges across the country and most recently being part of the Coalition for Access, Affordability, and Success’ community-based organization/high school advisory committee.

ASP will receive $5,000 to put toward general operating support, scholarships, and/or professional development.

NCAN solicits nominees from its membership for the annual Awards of Excellence in College Access and Success. A committee of NCAN members reviews all nominations, with final decisions confirmed by the NCAN board of directors. NCAN thanks the five members of the 2016 Awards Committee for their service:

  • Cat Horzewski, Boys & Girls Clubs of Greater Milwaukee
  • Roxanne Mendez, The Riordan Programs at UCLA Anderson School of Management
  • Lauren Olsen, Rutgers University
  • Robbie Stabeno, Waco Foundation/MAC Scholarship Program
  • Tina Wirth, Earn Up